Home / News / Muffin Break Wins Gold

What’s New

Muffin Break Wins Gold

For Our Sustainability Initiatives

Muffin Break are the recipient of a Gold Asia-Pacific Stevie Award for our Innovation in Sustainability.

Muffin Break’s innovation achievement

Muffin Break partnered with an innovator to impact Australia’s landfill in a unique way. Unique in the sense that the innovator, Simply Cups, is Australia’s first dedicated coffee cup recycling program. The project of partnering with Simply Cups offered Muffin Break a solution to divert over 12.8 million coffee cups from landfill.

For every takeaway coffee or hot drink sold by Muffin Break, the brand is paying towards diverting cups from landfill by Simply Cups.

Takeaway coffee cups can’t be recycled easily, due to the combination of paper and plastic lining. Simply Cups works with innovators to solve this problem.

They’re collecting disposable coffee cups from all over the country and giving them a second lease on life as a newly recycled and recyclable products.

Development of our Partnership

We are working with Simply Cups as their Shopping Centre partner exploring progressive opportunities to influence changes in waste management for shopping centres where Muffin Break stores are located.

We presented to our shopping centre partners to discuss the upgrade of their current waste systems, with the solutions as offered by Simply Cups.

Since our partnership, Simply Cups now has 16 shopping centre partners onboard since February 2019 and have together collected 609,770 takeaway coffee cups at these sites.

About the Stevie Awards

The Stevie Awards are widely considered to be the world’s premier business awards, conferring recognition for achievement in the workplace over the past 18 years in programs such as The International Business Awards® and The American Business Awards®. The name Stevie is derived from the Greek word for “crowned.”

The 2020 Asia-Pacific Stevie Awards have recognized organizations in 20 nations including Australia, China including Hong Kong and Macao, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, the United States, and Vietnam. More than 1,000 nominations about innovative achievements in the 29-nation APAC region.